Food, Recipes

Farro salad with roasted veg

Decided I need more veg in this body. Haven’t been eating well lately. I haven’t been in
the mood to cook – it’s been worrying me. I think I go through phases. There are times when the only place I want to be in, is in the kitchen. And then there are times when I can’t bear the thought. I’ve been in that mode lately! Not good. Anyway, I made this last night.
It was quick and easy, it’s healthy and I made enough to feed a small army. We’ll be
eating this all week. Poor Sheldon.

Farro salad with roasted veg
by Jamie Oliver

Serves 8

400g farro or bulgar wheat
3 yellow courgettes, halved lengthways and deseeded
2 green courgettes, halved lengthways and deseeded
2 bulbs of fennel, trimmed and thickly sliced, herby tops reserved
1 red onion, peeled and cut into wedges
2 red peppers, halved, deseeded and cut into chunks
2 aubergines, cut into chunks
4 cloves of garlic
extra virgin olive oil
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
herb or white wine vinegar
a good bunch of fresh herbs (flat-leaf parsley, basil, mint, oregano)
a squeeze of lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 200ºC/400ºF/gas 6. Soak the farro or bulgar wheat in cold water
for 20 minutes, then drain. Slice the courgettes across into chunky half-moons and
put them into a large roasting tray. Add the remaining vegetables and the garlic cloves
and toss together with a good splash of olive oil. Season well with salt and pepper.
Try to spread the vegetables out in one layer, as they’ll roast better this way (use 2 trays
if you have to). Roast in the preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, removing the trays and carefully shaking them now and then, until the vegetables are cooked through and crisp around the edges. Sprinkle a little vinegar over the vegetables as soon as they come out
of the oven and set aside to cool. When cool, tip on to a large chopping board, add the fresh herbs and chop finely.

Place the farro or bulgar wheat in a large saucepan, cover with fresh cold water and
bring to the boil. Simmer for 20 minutes, or until tender, and drain well. Dress with olive
oil and the lemon juice, season with salt and pepper, and toss with the roasted herby vegetables. Scatter over the reserved fennel tops and serve.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Farro salad with roasted veg

  1. Hi, I know exactly what you mean … I cook for a living, and live for doing it…@ work, and usually love to cook at home, but, it takes much more incentive at home these days. I just found this delicious site of yours while visiting “Blue Jellybeans ” site…And, seeing this recipe, I’m sure glad I did…that Jamie Oliver is something, huh? Wish I had his garden.
    Bless You
    paul

Leave a Reply

