Food, Recipes

Grandpa Mac’s banana bread

My ‘oldest’ friend came to visit last week. Christine and I have been friends since Class 2 – we went to Malvern Primary together and then she was my only friend who came to the same high school as me – Durban Girls’. So now that I work it out, we’ve been friends for 29 years! That makes me feel so old.

Anyway, she was over from London for her sister’s wedding and came to visit so she could see me and meet Freya for the first time. I thought it was best to get back in the kitchen and so I baked her my Grandpa’s banana bread loaf that he always used to bake for us. We used to arrive at their flat on Berea Road and there was almost always a fresh loaf wrapped up in wax paper and a piece of string to hold it together. It was such a treat. He could be such a grumpy old man but he showed us the love with his baking that’s for sure!

This is a fail safe recipe people. I’ve passed it on to so many of my friends now. So thought it was about time I share it with all of you. Now do my Grandpa proud and get baking!

Yes, that’s butter people. I like thick butter – and I even sprinkle a bit of salt on top!

Grandpa’s banana bread
Makes 1 loaf

2 cups plain flour, sifted
2 eggs, beaten
115g butter
1 cup sugar
4 bananas, mashed
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/4 cup water
1 handful walnuts, chopped (optional)

Preheat oven on 180˚C. Cream together the butter and the sugar. Add in the mashed banana and mix. Beat in the eggs. Then alternate the flour and water with the bicarb dissolved into it. Add the baking powder and mix. Add the chopped up nuts now if you like.

Pour into greased loaf tin and bake for 60-75 minutes. I usually check mine when it’s been in for an hour. If you pierce the loaf in the centre with a knife and it comes out wet, then whack it back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Grandpa Mac’s banana bread

  1. lyonsloudroad says:

    What did you call Grampa, cause it was Granny Mac – but yes, he could sure make a good banana bread! Even had the same thick butter on top!

  2. www.mandyfeldonphotography.com says:

    Banana bread is my absolute favourite Caro. I can never get it right (very amateur baker!). Will give this one a try. x

Leave a Reply

